The Lie

He lies every night, by me;

I look into his bleak, unflattering eyes,

When he confesses his love to me.

I know that it is untrue, but want to believe otherwise.

 

I feel him slip away,

When I hold him tight,

I see him stumble in the way,

In the bright daylight.

 

I feel the coldness,

When he makes love,

I hug him and feel him tighten,

Like a stifled dove.

 

I wish he lied to me,

And I feel sorry for him,

As sad as it may be,

He is living a lie himself.

 

I lay there staring at the ceiling,

Where the fan rotated like the wheel of a cart.

Knowing fully, that I am the one in his arms,

But I m not, and cannot replace the one in his heart.

 

19 thoughts on “The Lie

  1. Nice read! πŸ™‚
    There is a song by Rihanna, Unfaithful, the same tone, theme but from the other person’s perspective. Singing in the same tune didn’t work though. πŸ˜›

  2. Beautiful poem and a completely worth of read!!
    I am lucky to stumble upon your blog. A bit of poet myself, wonder if you can spare time to look on my work too !! πŸ™‚
    and a bit of advice, i saw that your each stanza has unintentional space in between the lines. Instead of using “Enter” to new line use “Shift+Enter” to enter the new line this will remove the unnecessary line gap you have in a verse of poem!! and you draft will look much better!!
    Thanks

Like it? Don't like it? Comments, critiques and compliments welcome :)

